Pin It

Home / Pharmacy Technician Career / State by State requirements to become a Pharmacy Technician

State by State requirements to become a Pharmacy Technician

Since each state has different laws about pretty much everything, it shouldn’t be a surprise that the requirements to become a pharmacy technician are slightly different in each state. Therefore, it’s very important that you know the requirements before jumping into the career, so you can better plan for your training and education prior to becoming employed as a Pharmacy Technician.

If you’re willing to relocate, it may be worth it to go to another state that either offers a better pharmacy program or has less requirements so you can get started sooner. Regardless, feel free to take a look at the requirements for each state.

Alabama: There is no requirement in Alabama, once you’ve been hired at a Pharmacy you’ll need to register with the state board.

Alaska: There is no requirement in Alaska, you can be hired as a Pharmacy Technician as long as you’re being trained by a licensed pharmacist. Once you’ve been hired, you need to register with the state board.

Arizona: The state of Arizona requires all Pharmacy Technicians are in possession of the PTCB (Pharmacy Technician Certification Board) certification.

Arkansas: Although there’s no requirement to be hired as a PT in Arkansas, you do need to pass a state test after you’ve been hired. Alternatively, you can acquire the PTCB certification and bypass the test.

California: Unlike most states, California has five different options for people seeking employment in a Pharmacy Tech career. First, you could obtain an Associate’s degree in Pharmacy Technology (2 year degree), or complete the ASHP training course (240 hours). Alternatively, you could attend another school that is accredited by the ASHP, or get training from the federal armed services. The last option is to gain certification through the PTCB.

Colorado: There is no requirement in Colorado, but those with training and/or certifications will be preferred over those without.

Connecticut: The state of Connecticut requires documented training by a pharmacy manager, as well as a state certification which can be applied for after training. Alternatively, you can just become certified from the PTCB and bypass those steps.

Delaware: There is no requirement to become a Pharmacy Tech in Delaware.

Florida: To become a PT in Florida, you’ll need to complete an approved training program by the state board.

Georgia: The state of Georgia only requires you to register with the state board before pursuing a Pharmacy Technician career.

Hawaii: There are no requirements to become a Pharmacy Tech in the state of Hawaii.

Idaho: The state of Idaho requires either a PTCB certification or an ICPT certification.

Illinois: Illinois allows on the job training for Pharmacy Technicians, and eventually you’ll need to achieve the PTCB certification. Alternatively, you can enroll in a Pharmacy Technician Training program, and once completed you can become a Pharmacy Technician with no other requirements.

Indiana: The state of Indiana requires completion of either the PTCB certification or another board approved training program.

Iowa: You’ll need to register with the state board in Iowa, and then complete either the PTCB certification or the ICPT certification within one year of registering with the state board.

Kansas: The state of Kansas doesn’t require anything to become a PT, however once you’ve been hired you’ll need to complete a test given by the state after being trained.

Kentucky: There is no requirement in the state of Kentucky, once you’ve been hired you’ll need to register with the state board.

Louisiana: The state of Louisiana is one of the toughest states to become a Pharmacy Technician in. First you need a job at a Pharmacy, then you’ll need to apply for the Pharmacy Technician Candidate certificate from the state board. Once you’ve obtained that certificate, you have 18 months to complete a state approved training program in the state of Louisiana. In total, there are 600 hours of experience required and a board approved certification exam that needs to be passed in order to become a full-fledged Pharmacy Technician in Louisiana.

Maine: Become hired as a PT and complete job training, then register with the state board. However, Maine is a very tough state to advance in the Pharmacy Technician career without any training or certifications.

Maryland: Maryland requires a board approved certification for Pharamcy Techs, alternatively, you could complete a training program with 160+ hours (this must be completed within 6 months)

Massachusetts: You can either complete a program through the federal armed services, one approved by the state board, or one that is accredited by the ASHP. Alternatively, you can use 500 documented hours of work in a pharmacy and apply to take either the state exam or the PTCB.

Michigan: There is no requirement in the state of Michigan.

Minnesota: There is no requirement in the state of Minnesota, once you’ve been hired you’ll need to register with the state board.

Mississippi: First, apply with the state board, and then take either the PTCB or ICPT certification exam.

Missouri: There is no requirement in the state of Missouri, once you’ve been hired you’ll need to register with the state board.

Montana: First, register with the state board, once you’ve been accepted you’ll need to achieve either the ICPT or PTCB certification within 18 months.

Nebraska: Register with the state board, then you can become a PT in Nebraska.

Nevada: There’s a few options in Nevada, the easiest is to complete an ASHP accredited program. Alternatively, you could get 1,500 hours of document experience, or completed training through the federal armed services. Nevada allows those who are PTCB certified in another state to transfer their certification.

New Hampshire: There is no requirement in New Hampshire, however you’ll need to register with the state board after completing job training within 30 days.

New Jersey: All you need to do is register with the state board in New Jersey.

New Mexico: First, register with the state board, then receive on the job training, and then pass either the PTCB or the ICPT certification within 6 months.

New York: There is no requirement to become a Pharmacy Tech in New York.

North Carolina: The state of North Carolina offers three different routes to becoming a PT, the easiest option is to complete 6 months of on the job training and then register with the state board. Alternatively, you can either complete a training program via a community college or get your PTCB certification.

North Dakota: Either complete on the job training under a licensed pharmacist, or complete an ASHP accredited program.

Ohio: First, you’ll need to register with the state board, and then obtain either a PTCB or an ICPT certification within the first 7 months of being employed at a pharmacy.

Oklahoma: There is no requirement in Oklahoma, you can complete on the job training.

Oregon: Once you’ve been hired in a pharmacy in the state of Oregon, you’ll need to get registered with the state board and then pass a certification exam within a year of being hired. Alternatively you can obtain either the PTCB or the ICPT certification.

Pennsylvania: There is no requirement in the state of Pennsylvania.

Rhode Island: Complete an ASHP accredited training program, or complete training via the federal armed services.

South Carolina: The state of South Carolina only requires that you register with the state board.

South Dakota: You can either register with the state board prior to being hired in a pharmacy, or you can start on the job training and then register with the state board.

Tennessee: There is no requirement in Tennessee, once you’ve been hired you’ll need to register with the state board.

Texas: In Texas, you’ll need to first become an “in-training technician”, and then obtain a PTCB certification.

Utah: Pass either the PTCB or the ICPT certification, and then you’ll need to complete a minimum 180 hour training program that is board approved.

Vermont: There is no requirement in the state of Vermont, once hired, you’ll need to register with the state board.

Virginia: Either acquire a PTCB certification, or complete a board approved training program. Once you’ve done one of these, you’ll need to register to the state board prior to being employed.

Washington: First, complete an exam that is nationally certified, and then go through a board approved training program.

West Virginia: Either become PCTB certified and then complete 20 hours of training while on the job, or you can be hired first and pass a state test afterwards.

Wisconsin: There is no requirement in the state of Wisconsin to become a Pharmacy Technician.

Wyoming: The state of Wyoming required a PCTB certification to become a Pharmacy Tech.