Pin It

Home / State Certification / Utah Pharmacy Technician

Utah Pharmacy Technician

For those curious about becoming a Pharmacy Tech, take a look at the frequently asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Utah. However, the requirements vary from state to state, so if you are not living in Utah, you’ll want to find the FAQ for your state. If you’re currently a Utah resident, read on and hopefully you’ll find all of the answers you’re looking for.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in Utah?

Yes, you are required to pass a certification exam through the PTCB or the ExCPT. Many states do not require certification, but it is important to realize that it’s actually a good thing for all Pharmacy Technicians if a state requires certification. In most cases, states without this requirement have a lot of very low paying jobs that can get by with paying $9/hr because the job is a low requirement position. In states where certification is required, the average wage is much higher for the position.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in Utah?

Both the PTCB and the ExCPT certification are state board approved.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in Utah?

Yes. You must have a valid state board issued licensed to work as a pharmacy technician in the state of Utah.

What is the contact information for the Utah State Board?

160 East 300 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111. (801) 530-6628

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in Utah?

You’ll need to ensure you meet all of the state designated requirements for licensure, and then submit an application to the state board.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in Utah?

-        Must possess a valid PTCB or ExCPT certification

-        Must complete a short test about Utah’s pharmacy laws

-        Must include an application fee of $100, this is non-refundable

-        Must be at least 18 years old

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of Utah?

Yes, every odd numbered year on September 30th your license will expire. You’ll need to make sure that you have renewed prior to this date or you may face a hold on employment or termination.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in Utah?

You can either enroll in a state approved training program or opt to partake in closely supervised on the job training by your pharmacist. There is no difference between the two options, so just choose whatever is most convenient for you.