Pin It

Home / State Certification / Tennessee Pharmacy Technician

Tennessee Pharmacy Technician

There’s a lot of common frequently asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Tennessee. Remember, the requirements vary from state to state, so if you are not living in Tennessee these questions and answers likely won’t apply to your exact situation. Anyone currently living in the state of Tennessee should be able to find all of the information needed to help pursue a Pharmacy Technician career.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in Tennessee?

No, currently the state of Tennessee does not require certification for any employed pharmacy technicians. However, those who plan to make a career out of this are highly encouraged to become certified, and if you are going to do it eventually you’ll be better off doing it sooner than later.

If you’re certified before you begin your job search, you’ll not only find a job much faster but you’ll also get a higher pay rate, even at an entry-level position. Certified technicians are guaranteed to have much more room for advancement within the company than on-certified.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in Tennessee?

The PTCB is state board approved.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in Tennessee?

Yes, you must have acquired a license via the state board prior to gaining employment as a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Tennessee.

What is the contact information for the Tennessee State Board?

227 French Landing, Suite 300 Nashville, TN 37243. (615) 253-1299

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in Tennessee?

Complete all of the state’s requirements and then submit an application to the state board.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in Tennessee?

-        You must submit a statement proving you have good moral character

-        Must be a US citizen

-        Must have no felony convictions

-        Must be at least 18 years old

-        Must include a $50 application fee

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of Tennessee?

Yes, you can renew your license online. Renewal must be done every two years.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in Tennessee?

No. There’s no state required training to work as a PT in the state of Tennessee. However, your pharmacist will prove you with on the job training so you are comfortable in the job position.