Pin It

Home / State Certification / South Carolina Pharmacy Technician

South Carolina Pharmacy Technician

If you’re a resident of the state of South Carolina and you’re interested in pursuing a career as a Pharmacy Technician, a great place to start is right here in your specific state’s FAQ. Remember, state laws for Pharmacy Techs are different in each state, so one states FAQ won’t apply to another state’s. Anyways, here’s some very useful information about Pharmacy Technicians in South Carolina.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in South Carolina?

No. Although, regulations are becoming more and more strict across the US, which means that South Carolina could switch to requiring certifications within the next few years. Currently licensing is required for Pharmacy Technicians in South Carolina, which increases the likeliness that the next change would be required certifications.

Even if you aren’t worried about the regulations changing, getting a certification prior to starting work as a Pharmacy Technician would really benefit you. Certified techs are almost guaranteed a higher entry level pay rate, as well as much more room for advancement. You’ll also notice that its must easier to get interviews will a certification under your belt.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in South Carolina?

The PTCB certification is state board approved.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in South Carolina?

Yes, you must acquire a license from the state board in order to work as a Pharmacy Technician in the state of South Carolina.

What is the contact information for the South Carolina State Board?

110 Centerview Drive, Suite 202 Columbia, SC 29210. (803) 896-4700

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in South Carolina?

You must meet all of the necessary requirements to receive licensure. Once you’ve met the requirements, you can submit a written application to the state board.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in South Carolina?

-        Must be at least 18 years old

-        Must possess a high school diploma or something equivalent

-        Complete a Pharmacy Technician training course that is state board approved

-        Complete 1,000 or more hours of work in a pharmacy technician position prior to becoming a full-fledged technician

-        Must include a non-refundable $40 application fee

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of South Carolina?

Yes. You must renew your license prior to June 30th every year. There is a $15 fee to renew your license, which is much lower than most other states.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in South Carolina?

Yes, you must complete a state approved training program prior to becoming licensed. You must also complete 1000 limited privilege employment offers at your job to become a fully licensed technician.