Pin It

Home / State Certification / Oklahoma Pharmacy Technician

Oklahoma Pharmacy Technician

There’s a lot of common frequently asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Oklahoma. However, the requirements vary from state to state, so if you are not living in Oklahoma these questions and answers likely will not apply to your exact situation. Anyone currently living in the state of Oklahoma should be able to find all of the information needed to help pursue a Pharmacy Technician career.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in Oklahoma?

No, certification is not required by the Oklahoma state board. However, there’s something to consider, technicians who become certified are going to have a major advantage over anyone who isn’t. First of all, you will have a much easier time landing interviews and eventually becoming hired.

It is also proven that certified technicians earn more money than non-certified ones, as well as have plenty of more room to advance within their pharmacy. Furthermore, licensure is required in this state, meaning certification requirements could follow.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in Oklahoma?

Yes, anyone wanting to become a PT in Oklahoma must receive a license from the state board.

What is the contact information for the Oklahoma State Board?

4545 Lincoln Blvd, Suite 112 Oklahoma City, OK 73105. (405) 521-3815

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in Oklahoma?

You need to meet all of Oklahoma’s requirements for licensure. Once you’ve met the requirements you can submit a written application to the state board.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in Oklahoma?

-        You must be employed at a pharmacy

-        You must me 18 years of age

-        You must include a $40 non-refundable application fee

-        You must include proof of citizenship

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of Oklahoma?

Yes. Your license will expire on the last day of your birth month, at this time if you have not renewed your license will be revoked. Make sure you renew prior to expiration, and remember to include the $40 renewal fee.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in Oklahoma?

Yes, but this is designated by your pharmacist, they will ensure that the training is state approved so you really just need to worry about finding a job and your pharmacist will take care of the rest.