Pin It

Home / State Certification / North Dakota Pharmacy Technician

North Dakota Pharmacy Technician

For those curious about becoming a Pharmacy Tech, take a look at the frequently asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of North Dakota. However, the requirements vary from state to state, so if you are not living in North Dakota, you’ll want to find the FAQ for your state. If you’re currently a North Dakota resident, read on and hopefully you’ll find all of the answers you’re looking for.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota?

Yes. In recent years this was not the case, but as of January 1st, 2011, all Pharmacy Technicians in the state of North Dakota are required to have a valid certification. You may become employed as a technician trainee for up to one year, and during that time period you must register a license and become certified otherwise your employment will be terminated.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in North Dakota?

Currently only the PTCB certification.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota?

Yes, all pharmacy technicians must acquire a license to work in a pharmacy.

What is the contact information for the North Dakota State Board?

1906 E. Broadway Avenue Bismarck, ND 58501. (701) 328-9535

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota?

First, make sure you meet the requirements listed by the state board. Once you’ve ensured that there won’t be any setbacks, you can submit a written application.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota?

-        You must complete a board approved training program

-        You must pass the PTCB exam

-        You must include a $35 non-refundable application fee

-        You must be 18 years of age or older

-        You must possess either a high school diploma or GED

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of North Dakota?

Yes, every year on March 1st your license will expire. You’ll need to include a $35 renewal fee each time you wish to renew your license.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota?

There’s no prior training required by the state, but your pharmacist will have you undergo on the job training shortly after being hired. This will ensure that you are able to handle all of the requirements of the job.