Pin It

Home / State Certification / Nevada Pharmacy Technician

Nevada Pharmacy Technician

Here you will find a list of the most commonly asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Nevada. Everything from licensure, certifications, contact information, and training information can be found here, so make sure you utilize this information. Remember though, state laws are different for each state, so if you aren’t a resident of Nevada you will need to find your own state’s FAQ.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in Nevada?

No, it is not necessarily required, but if you do not complete alternative options you will need to acquire a certification to work as a Pharmacy Technician in Nevada. Basically, you’ll need to do one of four options: complete an ASHP accredited training program, complete 1,500 hours of documented training by your employer, go through federal armed services training, or obtain a PTCB certification.

To be completely honest, getting the certification will be the easiest route and the most beneficial. Certified technicians make more money, find jobs quicker, and are able to be promoted much easier as opposed to those who don’t get certified and took another route.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in Nevada?

Currently the only approved certification is the PTCB.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in Nevada?

Yes, if you plan to work as a Pharmacy Technician you’ll need to receive a license from the state board of Nevada.

What is the contact information for the Nevada State Board?

431 W. Plumb Lane Reno, Nevada 89509. (775) 850-1440

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in Nevada?

You’ll need to first make sure you meet all of the designated requirements by the state board, then you can submit a written application. If everything checks out, you’ll receive your license shortly after.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in Nevada?

-        You must be 18 years of age or older

-        You must possess a high school diploma or GED

-        You must pass a criminal background check

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of Nevada?

Yes, your license will expire on the 31st of October and must be renewed prior to this date to avoid consequences such as termination or hold of employment.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in Nevada?

No, the state doesn’t require any specific training. However, if you do not have a certification, you’ll need to either complete 1,500 of documented training by your employer, be trained by the armed forces, or complete an ASHP accredited training program before you can become a Pharmacy Technician.