Pin It

Home / State Certification / Nebraska Pharmacy Technician

Nebraska Pharmacy Technician

If you’re a resident in the state of Nebraska and you’re interested in pursuing a career as a Pharmacy Technician, a great place to start is right here in your specific state’s FAQ. Remember, state laws for Pharmacy Techs are different in each state, so one states FAQ won’t apply to another state’s. Anyways, here’s some very useful information about Pharmacy Technicians in Nebraska.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in Nebraska?

The short answer is no. However, it is highly recommended that you work towards one of the available certifications in Nebraska once you’ve been hired, or even before. Despite the fact that it is not required, it will greatly improve your chances of finding a job quickly, as well as score you a higher pay rate in most cases and definitely open up advancement opportunities wherever you’re working.

Also, some states are working towards increased regulations for Pharmacy Technicians, this could likely happen in Nebraska as well so it is best to be prepared.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in Nebraska?

The PTCB.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in Nebraska?

Yes, although certifications are not required, all pharmacy technicians in the state of Nebraska must possess a license received from the state board.

What is the contact information for the Nebraska State Board?

PO Box 94986 Lincoln, NE 68509. (402) 471-2118

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in Nebraska?

You’ll need to first make sure you meet all of the designated requirements by the state board, then you can submit a written application. If everything checks out, you’ll receive your license shortly after.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in Nebraska?             

-        You must be 18 years of age or older

-        You must possess a high school diploma or GED or currently be enrolled in high school

-        You must pass a criminal background check

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of Nebraska?

Yes. On every even numbered year on the 1st of January you’ll be required to renew your license. The fee for renewal is $178, which is actually one of the highest renewal fees in all of the United States.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in Nebraska?

No, there is no required training that you need to complete prior to being employed. However, the state requires certain amounts of on the job training that will be designated by your pharmacist, you won’t need to worry about this until you become employed.