Pin It

Home / State Certification / Delaware Pharmacy Technician

Delaware Pharmacy Technician

There’s a lot of frequently asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Delaware. However, the requirements vary from state to state, so if you are not living in Delaware these questions and answers likely won’t help you. Those living in Delaware should be able to find all of the information needed to help pursue a Pharmacy Technician career.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in Delaware?

As of right now Delaware doesn’t require Pharmacy Technicians to be certified. However, technicians who do get certified or receive some sort of extra training will likely get hired much faster and receive more money even at entry level. There is also the factor that states are able to change their standards for Pharmacy Technicians, and in-fact, a lot of states who previously didn’t require certification are starting to convert.

Getting a head start will really help you avoid any major inconveniences of trying to obtain your certification while working, but the choice is ultimately up to you. Delaware currently does not require even a license to become a Pharmacy Technician, so it’s unlikely they would make the jump to requiring certifications anytime soon.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in Delaware?

Both the ICPT and the PTCB certifications are approved by the state board of Delaware.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in Delaware?

No, a license is not required to work as a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Delaware. However, having this lax regulation is becoming more and more uncommon across the United States, so it is important to be aware of the changing laws for Pharmacy Technicians so you can be ready to get your license and avoid any inconveniences.

Usually licensing only requires you fill out an application and mail it to the state board, and often times this is accompanied by an application fee. There may be other requirements you must meet prior to being accepted as a licensed Pharmacy Technician, but since licensing currently isn’t required, specific pre-requisites are unknown.

What is the contact information for the Delaware State Board?

861 Silver Lake Blvd. Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. (302) 744-4500

What are the requirements to work as a Pharmacy Technician in Delaware?

The state requires that all Pharmacy Technicians be at least 18 years of age. Most pharmacies will not hire anyone who does not possess a High School Diploma or GED. If you’re hired to a pharmacy, you must complete a designated amount of supervised training (usually by your pharmacist), which must be documented.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in Delaware?

Currently there is no prior training required to work as a Pharmacy Tech in Delaware. However, as stated above you will need to undergo directly supervised training by your Pharmacist. Usually this is somewhere between 20-40 hours, but in certain cases it may be extended.