Pin It

Home / State Certification / California Pharmacy Technician

California Pharmacy Technician

There’s a lot of common frequently asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of California. However, the requirements vary from state to state, so if you are not living in California these questions and answers likely will not apply to your exact situation. Anyone currently living in the state of California should be able to find all of the information needed to help pursue a Pharmacy Technician career.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in California?

As of right now the answer is no. However, there are plenty of benefits to acquiring a Pharmacy Tech certification even though it isn’t required. For example, employers will always prioritize applications from applicants who have a certification or some type of schooling dedicated to the medical field. Also, the state law can change, so you can prevent any inconvenience of having to rush a certification due to new laws by obtaining one prior to starting your job.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in California?

Currently the PTCB certification is approved in the state of California.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in California?

Yes, anyone wanting to work as a Pharmacy Technician in the state of California must receive a license from the state board. Please keep in mind that the application can take up to three months to fully process.

What is the contact information for the California State Board?

1625 N Market Blvd, N219, Sacramento, CA 95834. (916) 574-7900, FAX: (916) 574-9618

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in California?

You will need to first meet all of the requirements to become licensed, and then submit a written application to the California state board. Once all of this has been completed, you’ll need to wait up to three months to receive your license.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in California?

There are several requirements you must meet in order to apply for a Pharmacy Technician license in the state of California. These include but may not be limited to:

-        Must possess a High School Diploma or GED

-        You must possess one of three things: proof of armed services training as a pharmacy tech, a PTCB certification, or a college degree in the pharmacy field.

-        Must pass a federal and state background check

-        Must include an $80 application fee

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of California?

Yes, every odd numbered year your license will expire and require renewal.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in California?

It depends on the situation, in certain cases the state board may require an individual to complete 120 hours of direct supervised training by a pharmacist before you license is fulfilled.