Pin It

Home / State Certification / Alaska Pharmacy Technician

Alaska Pharmacy Technician

Here is a list of frequently asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Alaska. Remember, the requirements are different for each state, so if you are not living in Alaska these questions and answers likely will not apply to your exact situation. For those living in the state of Alaska, you should be able to find all of the information you need to help pursue your Pharmacy Technician career.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in Alaska?

As of right now, no. However, there have been more states increasing standards for becoming a Pharmacy Tech, so this could change within the next few years. Additionally, Pharmacy Technicians who are certified will often find jobs much easier, receive a higher rate of pay, and have much more room for advancement.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in Alaska?

Currently the only certification that is approved in Alaska is the ICPT.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in Alaska?

Yes. A license is different from a certification as you don’t need to pass a test or anything, you simply need to apply with the state board of Alaska. You cannot work as a Pharmacy Technician until your license has been approved.

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in Alaska?

You will need to apply with the state board, contact information is:

33 Willoughby Avenue, Juneau, Alaska. Phone #: (907) 465-2589. Website: www.commerce.state.ak.us

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in Alaska?

There are several requirements to apply:

-        You MUST possess a High School Diploma

-        You MUST be at least 18 years old

-        No felony convictions within five years

-        There is a $150 application fee, which is non-refundable

If you meet all of those requirements, and are able to pay the application fee, you can mail a pharmacy technician application to the state board.

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of Alaska?

Yes, licenses expire on every even numbered year on June 30th. You must renew your license before June 30th, this is accompanied by a $100 renewal fee.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in Alaska?

This depends on the job you have, every job will have its own form of training but there isn’t a specific training school or anything required by the state.