Pin It

Home / State Certification / Alabama Pharmacy Technician

Alabama Pharmacy Technician

Many of frequently asked questions about becoming a Pharmacy Technician in the state of Alabama are asked by those interested in the field. It is important to realize that Alabama’s state laws and regulations will differ from another state’s. Anyone currently living in the state of Alabama will find the information below to be accurate, but non-residents will need to find their home state’s FAQ.

Do I need any certification to become a Pharmacy Technician in Alabama?

The short answer is no. However, it is highly recommended that you work towards one of the available certifications in Alabama once you’ve been hired, or even before. Despite the fact that it is not required, it will greatly improve your chances of finding a job quickly, as well as score you a higher pay rate in most cases and definitely open up advancement opportunities wherever you’re working.

Also, some states are working towards increased regulations for Pharmacy Technicians, this could likely happen in Alabama as well so it is best to be prepared.

Which Pharmacy Technician certifications are approved in Alabama?

The PCTB certification is approved by the Alabama state board.

Am I required to have a license to become a Pharmacy Technician in Alabama?

Yes, all pharmacy technicians in the state of Alabama must receive licensure from the state board. Remember, this is different from a certification, there is no exam you need to pass or anything like that.

How do I become licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in Alabama?

First, you are going to need to make sure you meet all of the requirements designated by the state of Alabama for Pharmacy Technicians. If you do, you can then proceed to print out an application, fill it out, and mail it to the state board.

What are the requirements to apply for a license as a Pharmacy Technician in Alabama?

-        You must be at least 18 years old

-        You must possess a high school diploma or GED

-        You must include an application fee of $50

-        You must pass a criminal background check

Does my Pharmacy Technician license ever expire in the state of Alabama?

Yes. Your license will expire annually, at which point you must renew the license. The cost for renewal is $40, and this fee must be paid every time you want to renew.

Is there any training required to become a Pharmacy Technician in Alabama?

No. However, even though there is no state required training, your pharmacist is likely going to make sure you receive plenty of closely supervised on the job training. This will include showing you around the pharmacy, possibly quizzing you on different areas of the job. The job isn’t difficult, but takes a while to learn, and there is very little room for error so make sure you pay very close attention.